“Ugly live up on the inside. Ugly be a hurtful, mean person.”― Kathryn Stockett

“I realized I actually had a choice in what I could believe.” ― Kathryn Stockett

Those two quotes.  They hit home for me just now.  I have been that ugly person. I have been hurtful,  mean, belligerent, even violent at times in my past because of  depression. The darkest place of a scared-hurt-traumatized person lashing out for fear of being hurt more.

Yet, a small desperate part of me wanted relief,  wanted healing,  wanted improvement,  wanted to see my own beauty.  I wanted it so badly I kept stumbling through life, forcing myself to keep going,  picking up pieces of a puzzle, hoping that eventually they might fit.

Now I see. 

I see that I took the path of more resistance in life,  but I’ve still found all my puzzle pieces. I finally found everything that makes me be the beautiful light person I so desperately wanted to be and see.

 It’s a seemingly difficult puzzle that I’m having trouble keeping together. It seems like all the pieces want to keep falling apart,  but really I just need to glue them together with a little something I think is called self-worth. 

It’s the value I place in myself, which makes myself so important that I’ll do anything to keep those pieces together so that I’m always the beautiful whole person I know I can be.

I just need to make myself so important that doing what’s right for me and my body is more important than anything else. 

 More important than being on time,  more important than making another appointment,  more important than helping others,  more important than even keeping my family together.  Because without me none of the other things would even exist.  All of the other things are merely elements of a large illusion of which I agreed to participate.  If I exit from the game,  the game would continue with other players. 

So, if the other elements/things/people are important to me, I still need to put myself first to be able to be there for them.  To be able to experience them.  If I lose myself to the ugly again,  or worse: exit the game, then everything else either falls apart or is reconstructed substituting other players.

I am what’s holding my view of this illusion together.  

I am most important.

I must value myself enough to keep the puzzle glued together and maintain my beauty so that the world begins to reflect that beauty. 

They say it gets easier with time and practice.

I like feeling beautiful,  and I like feeling loved. I like feeling like I love myself enough to put myself first and allow the universe to reflect that beauty back to me. I like that all, so much, that my glue gets stronger every day. I know that one  day the glue will be so strong it’ll be easy to pick up my puzzle and carry it anywhere I want to go and show everyone how beautiful I am for figuring out my puzzle. That will be a great day.

Maybe then I’ll be able to teach others how to take a path of less resistance to find their puzzle pieces and glue them together. That would be an even better day. 

Thank you Abraham.

 Thank you Shiva/Shango/Cuernnuos. 

Thank you Brighid/Kali/Kuan Yin.

One thought on ““Ugly live up on the inside. Ugly be a hurtful, mean person.”― Kathryn Stockett

Leave a Reply

