Judgemental much

I went to Costco to get a few necessities we had neglected to get previously.  It was post gym trip so I left my leggings off & just put the short dress back on that I had worn for work.  Thus my nice god(s) given leg hair was showing.

I love tormenting people with that.  It makes Americans so damn uncomfortable to see a woman comfortable in her own skin. HA!

I got the usual furrowed brows & frowns from other women. 

I overheard a husband and wife talking about it not so discretely. She said “look at that woman’s legs”.  He replied “I think that’s ugly” and “she should shave”.  … 

Here’s a clue- I’m not here to be your validation of what society deems beautiful,  and you can think I should shave all you want because: I will never do so, especially to just please your sorry ass. You’re not my husband,  so obviously your opinion doesn’t count in my world.  Furthermore,  if a woman’s desire to shave her legs or not determines whether she’s beautiful or not,  then you’ve got some pretty f-ed up ideas of beauty. That being said, your lovely wife seems to meet your expectations, and she’s either okay with your messed  up ideals or is too shut down to defend a woman’s right to do as she damn well pleases,  so you two were perfect for each other. Have a great life. 

Finally, was the mom at the register explaining to her approximately 7 year old daughter that just because she chooses to shave doesn’t mean that everyone does. She told her daughter that “it wouldn’t be my first choice, but if she’s happy it doesn’t mater”. You go mom.  You’re being a stellar example to your daughter.  Teaching her to do what she thinks is best for her and not to worry about what others do. That was a stellar conservation.  I wish everyone taught their kids that.  I’m glad my hairy legs could be of assistance today. 

Additionally, yes,  I do realize that my pointing out other people’s judgemental attitudes and offering commentary does make me equally judgemental.  And in that enlies the conundrum. How do you encourage more positive responses without being judgemental yourself? Automatically in pointing out someone’s snotty attitude toward me, I’m feeling their attitude as unfit,  I’m being judgemental of their state of being. 

So, I’ll close with:

May we all find greater enlightenment and be more accepting of each other. May peace and love override the need for any of these interactions. 

Leave a Reply

