Birthday Fun & my aftermath…

So Anya turned 12 a couple of weeks ago,  but I schemed up a slumber party for her with her best friends much after the fact. 

There was no way she was ever going to get the sleepover she’s been begging for, at our home. So, I conceded that it would have to be somewhere else.  After conferring  with parents of her closest friends,  I determined that most of us are in the same boat, though for a wide variety of reasons.  So, if she was ever going to get that sleepover it’d have to be at a hotel. 

She’s earned it this year watching Ian (a lot) and talking care of chickens.  Nagging her aside, I decided I better make it happen to show our appreciation for her efforts. 

I decided that if I was going to spend money out of our savings on 2 hotel rooms,  it would best serve everyone if it was special.  So  I picked the hotel attached to the indoor CoCo Keys water park. It was more expensive than your usual hotel,  but considering the attraction,  not that much more expensive; & definitely not as expensive as Great Wolf Lodge.   The hardest part was biting  the bullet for 2 rooms. 

I did,  and the girls had a blast.  It was only girls because I couldn’t bring myself to allow a co-ed sleepover, even if it was begnign. 6 girls, me & one other mom.  Nathan & Ian partook in some water park & Ian harassed the girls for a bit in the evening before the two of them went home. It was a grand time with make-up, nails,  hair styling, singing,  and going gaga over famous boys. I crashed just after midnight,  but when I woke at 3am they were still going strong.  By Friday morning at checkout everyone was exhausted and ready to go home and sleep.

Since I didn’t ask permission to post pictures,  I’ve blotted out their faces. Especially considering none of them actually look 12 years old. Us parents are apalled at how mature they all look.

Ian really had fun encroaching on their fun space several times:

Anya enjoyed being made up, and it looked so good I can’t bring myself to show you.  Some things are just not safe for the internet. 

So, with all this gaiety, what’s the aftermath? The usual.

 Despite taking most of the  food  that was eaten at this event, intentionally accommodating myself,  I did still lapse some.  I also got very drunk  with the other mom as we enjoyed a little reprieve from boys. It taxed my system too much being I’d just pulled myself out of another worse food fail just 4 days prior. I had a hangover the next day (something that’s only ever happened 2 other times total),  and all weekend I’ve had to work to convince myself to do better. 

My brain wants to throw in the towel. This being healthy thing,  especially healthy enough to keep my brain buoyant,  is really hard work. It’s a lot of pieces to keep together,  and life is enjoying making that task very, very difficult.  I think at this point learning 2 foreign languages is easier than keeping my mental health intact. 

It also doesn’t help that I’ve gotten into something that caused a horrible itchy rash on my arms. It’s much like poison ivy,  and I can think of maybe 3 ways I’d have come into contact with something like that. It could also be chiggers or oak mites as I could think of ways I’d have gotten those too. 

Regardless, the itching is insanity piled on top of my food induced lack of caring. It’s been a tough day. After helping get recycling & laundry  underway,  I took a shower and proceeded to veg. Now I’m going to apply another dose of calamine lotion & go to bed.

I hope Anya really did enjoy her birthday water park slumber party, but more I hope it makes up for all the rest of the sucknitude right now. 

Leave a Reply

