Living La Vida Loca- Enrique Iglesias

I feel that song quote fits this quick update. I felt like I needed to post an update, but I have precious little time to do so, so a quickie on my lunch break will have to do.

  1. Visited Dad Sunday into Monday. Very surreal, but very needed. He sent me off with gifts of protection, sustenance, and a sentimental returned gift from my childhood. I can’t help but wonder if there is more to the gifts than meets the eye, but only time will tell that. Everyone was on their best behavior and despite my fathers harsh presence at times in the past, we got through the visit with nary an argument. It was very surreal, but in the best way possible, especially considering everything in my family’s history.
  2. Garden is growing great, with all the rain everything is doing wonderful. I haven’t had time to take pictures, so I’ll have to do that this weekend, probably when I go to mow the lawn again.
  3. Another chicken died of natural causes, but that hasn’t affect egg production. Now that the weather is nice again were getting 3 to 4 dozen eggs a day. I’ll be delivering 10 dozen to a friend this evening. She’s going to make mini-quiches to put in the fridge and freezer at work for the low income high-schoolers that intern at her work. She says they typically have whatever leftovers or chips are available in their break-room for breakfast, so this will actually be a healthy breakfast for them now. I’m glad our abundance in eggs will help kids that need it.
  4. I’ve been working long days to accommodate fewer days in the city. So far it has helped get caught up on basic chores and do things like the visit to Dad. However, I’ve planned 13 long work days (14-15 hours) in June to enable 17 mostly open days for construction. It’ll be interesting to see if: A) I can stick to it; and B) if it produces the results I’m hoping for.
  5. The construction plan has shifted. Essentially, in a quick synopsis: The rotten wood and siding replacement on the mobile home was pushing the budget over 5 grand extra just to do the outside, and that was if I did everything myself. However, I can get a 8’W x 45’L x 9’T (foot) shipping container for $2200, so 2 shipping containers would be much more square footage and not only save me a little money, but a lot of time. So the new plan is get 1 shipping container and get it built with allowances for a second one to be attached later. I can use everything that was started and collected for the mobile home, and pull the rest of the usable materials from the mobile home. Thus saving even more time and money. In the short term it’ll be a very small space for us to get used to, but it will enable land, well and septic to happen faster, and in the long run we could end up with a very nice spacious home made of 2 or 3 containers attached in a variety of options. Also, if I can get it delivered quickly, I could potentially have a large portion of the construction done by the end of June because of all the days I took off. It’s essentially almost twice the time allotted for all of the construction we did last year. Then if I managed to do the same in July we could have a nice home in a little over 2 months. The biggest hiccup will be paying for the remainder of the needed supplies. I won’t have much to spare, so I foresee playing the “hop the Habitat Restore stores” game for the rest of the cabinets, electrical, plumbing, and fixtures, and even as much of the raw lumber as possible. There are a few elements I will have to purchase new (kitchen counter) so I have to leave some cushion for those items. It’ll be tight, but I think it will speed things up considerably. Now, if I can just get the shipping container guy to call or email me back.
  6. Anya’s birthday is coming up soon, and even though we got her a phone, I feel I need to do something special to show her how much we appreciate everything she does for us. She’s headed to the Ozarks as I write this, to spend time with a friend’s family at the lake. They are in our home-school group and really good people, so I think it’ll be a good time. She’s gone until Monday, so it’ll be an extra long weekend for me! Anyway, I’m thinking of doing a Coco-Keys water-park hotel stay for her and a few friends. It’ll be 2 rooms with me and one other mom and 5 or 6 girls. Again, pushing my budget, but I need to show her we love her and care about her, and I can’t think of anything she’d like more. Now to schedule the reservation- it’s on my list of things to do today.
  7. All the “normal stuff”: mow, tend garden, clean, dishes, work on thinning  out our storage unit/purging, laundry, cats, chickens… I’m sure that’s not even everything, but my lunch break is up, so I’ll just have to write another post this weekend. A crazy life for a crazy wonderful family doing our best to survive this crazy world (and that’s not even considering anything politically or societally!).
Leave a Reply

