When plans change….

So today I had 3 goals in my plans:

1) mow the lawn

2) get a shower

3) go to choir/orchestra practice

Nathan had 3 goals as well:

1) haul water

2) do dishes

3) go to writers group followed by choir/ orchestra practice

I ate breakfast,  made sure kids ate. Filled water bowls inside & out.  The cats & chickens & duck all appreciated that….

I was 30 minutes into mowing when I hit a bit of insulation from the remodel house. 

 Suddenly the mower wasn’t acting right.  My heart sank. I was only about an 8th of the way done. 

I lifted the mower to see this: 

WTF- where’d the blade go. 

It was 2 ft to the side,  & there was a bit of plastic I guessed must be the drive belt cover.

*Frown.*

I asked Nathan if we had a back-up mower.  He said “no”, followed by “why?”.

 I told him what happened, & after much jesting, he helped me reformulate plans. 

The mower wasn’t an instant fix. So, take it to a small engine repair guy in Gallatin later. 

However,  I was really just getting started on mowing & this was truly my only chance for days to do so. The grass is so tall already! 

So the new plan,  a “quick” run to Cameron for a smaller as-cheap-as-it-gets mower as our back-up. About an hour & $150 later,  we’ll be somewhat back on track… sort of. I hope. I hope we get our goals accomplished anyway. 

Update1

Ian liked mower shopping, mommy just wishes she could afford his favorite….

Update2

We finally have a yard again. 3 hours,  about an acre of grass, & 15000 steps later… sigh… I have just enough time to solar shower myself before orchestra practice…. nicer shower will have to wait till tomorrow. 

Leave a Reply

