Good days are here. 

With my last round of adjustments, adding the vast amounts of green drinks & scaling back my calorie consumption, I’m feeling great.

My fitness tracker band that I’d ordered finally arrived and after an initial charge I was able to start using it yesterday.  It confirmed what I suspected that my medicine weaning process was needed and is accurate.  When thyroid meds are a little high,  you get faster than normal heart rates. My resting heart rate is between upper 80’s & low 100’s, when it should be  consistently in the 60’s & 70’s. Some people even have normal resting heart rates in the 50’s. So I’m definitely taking a little too much thyroid medicine.  I’m so glad I ordered the fitness tracker. 

That being said I’m feeling Great otherwise.  Really great,  so I’m definitely going to back down slowly to keep the happy love flowing.

In addition to my band being usable yesterday,  I was able to go get my tattoo touched up.  

This is what it used to look like (not the best pictures ever,  but you get the idea) :

My view: 


 Other people’s view:


It definitely needed help & I’d never had the budget to get it fixed.  After getting our  tax return & acknowledging that I’m at a bit of an impasse decision wise on construction,  I decided to divert a little to getting it fixed finally [8 years should be long enough to wait for that].

So, yesterday was the appointment. 2 hours of painful fixing- tattoos are not easy to handle the first time,  plenty of discomfort,  but fixing a botched tattoo means super sensitive scar tissue.  Fortunately, being a massage therapist I’d done the facial stretches on my tattoo hundreds of times to gradually reduce the scar tissue.  I’m glad because damn, it still hurt like crazy in places.  There were 2 spots that I had to really focus all my metal efforts finding my happy place & breathing to get through the touch up. It  helped that my tattoo has always been about love.  It  represents all the things I hold near & dear to my heart.  The Triquerta & Shamrock are due to my Irish heritage & strong desire to visit Ireland some  day. 

However, it was originally our “engagement ring” because being an LMT I don’t wear rings  when I’m working. Nathan & I got the matching shamrock on opposite arms so when we hold hands the tattoos touch. He let me go with the Irish theme because being of slavery lineage he has no idea what his heritage is, & he’s always connected with celtic influences anyway. 

So,  when the shamrock didn’t turn out right, the original tattooist tried to touch it up & offered a simple add on to make up for it. That’s where the triquerta came in. He did the same “fix” for both of us. But even after his fix, it never did look right.  Mine always had this void in the green that looked like a 7 (easier to see in my view/upside down).

Now 8 years later,  I’m finally getting to touch it up, & it hits me. 7 is Shiva in hebrew. Shiva mantras are the predominate mantras in my collection.  I’ve been praying to that archetype & feeling  like I’m getting responses. I also acknowledge that 2 of the friends that I’ve really been missing of late are Hindu- friends near and dear to my heart. 

 So, it only felt appropriate to add on something of India.

I also wanted to color the Triquerta in.

The Irish flag is green & orange & white.  The Indian flag is green & orange & white. 

 Hmmm. Interesting.  

The only major difference is the India flag has the Dharmachakra centered on it, which I do resonate with the meaning behind the chakra.  So I decided,  color the Triquerta in with the flag colors & add the chakra. I originally thought to center the chakra to the original tattoo,  but the artist doing the work pointed out that it would make the assymetry mistake of the original Triquerta more obvious. She suggested shifting it up like a halo,  I agreed. She also suggested not doing the white because I had originally wondered if the reason the shamrock had issues was due to the white highlights in it. She said yellow would be a better blend color because it is in both green & orange; it could be minimised to meet my desired look. I said ok.

So this is what it now looks like (with a couple shots of the process):

I’m very happy with the way it turned out.  

She gave me extra gentle care instructions to reduce the risk of having another color void issue. Essentially,  be extra gentle,  don’t submerge for a week,  keep bandaged for 3 days. Wash with soapy water 3x’s a day,  & just coconut oil after washing for mild moisturizing & anti- microbial effects. Happiness.

To celebrate we went to the Indian restaurant a block from the tattoo shop. It was a very yummy meal to end a very good day. I am very thankful and grateful for good days finally being here consistently. I choose to believe that this is significant of a major turning point in my life.  Things will continue to be good, great in fact.  I’m seeing the illusion for what it is,  I’m beginning to understand,  and be it divine influence or merely law of attraction,  I’m gradually moving in  wonderful directions. I’m looking forward to the future again.  *Deep Breath* Happy.

Leave a Reply

