Even healthier.

So despite my physical size,  I think I’m now healthier at this point than 90% of America. I actually had a person tell me yesterday I’m not consuming enough calories. I had to remind them that it’s all relative.  I’m not starving, I’m not hungry despite consuming 500 to 700 calories on a good day, and about 1000 to 1200 on a bad day.

There are 2 factors for me that qualify this low calorie intake for me personally. 

1) On a good day everything I’ve consumed is green or Salmon(occ. other lean meats)- very low calorie yet high nutrition. 

2) Having low thyroid function and intentionally weening from thyroid meds (so I don’t have to spend my whole life on them),  means acknowledging a slow metabolism. The fewer calories I consume means my body can avoid expending energy through digesting and actually burn fat to create energy. It also can still devote lower energy resources to other body & brain functions. This ultimately means eventually I’ll loose weight, but I can still function normally. It may take me much longer to loose weight than someone with normal thyroid function,  but my body isn’t busy using vital resources to process foods that might also contribute to the damage already done. 

I know that this is accurate for me by the way I feel.  I’m on the lowest dose of thyroid meds yet, and I’ve been taking meds for 2 years. However,  I still feel 10 times better than I  did when I was first diagnosed. I’m not hungry when I drink my green drinks & eat veggies; but when I stray & eat things I shouldn’t, I find that I have an insatiable hunger:  my body is craving the missing nutrients. 

For example let’s look at today’s intake: 

Drinks a plenty,  seaweed snacks,  3 chicken sausage (breakfast)  and 1 salmon jerky bar (lunch). I just finished my bar and I’m feeling full,  credit goes to the drinks,  so let’s look at those. 

Left to right

1) 12 oz bone broth (with my chicken sausage for breakfast)…. apparently this is the miracle drink for healing digestive damage, and so far I would concur,  my body loves it.

2) 32oz green tea with magnesium and iodine drops added

3) 30 oz green tea with Amazing Grass Raw Reserve powder, magnesium,  iodine, and colloidal silver added. 

4) 30 oz water with 3 Tbsp Braggs apple cider vinegar, Stevia, amazing grass again,  & iodine drops

5) 1L- my tea blend (peppermint,  nettles,  raspberry leaf,  spearmint, rose hips, anise, fennel, catnip, and a few other supplemental herbs), amazing grass powder,  magnesium, iodine, colloidal silver,  Stevia 

6) 1.5L of same mix as #5

So as you can see, very high nutrition drinks.  I spend a lot of money to essentially drink super healthy pond water free from bad bacteria! 

Why so much magnesium? My body goes through magnesium like crazy.  I don’t know why,  I just know it does.  I take 6 cheap magnesium,  use A Mag-A-Hol roller, and still put drops in my drinks.  If I miss either the roller or the drops I can take 9 cheap magnesium supplements a day before digestive ramifications occur. That’s A LOT for the average person. If I don’t get  adequate magnesium: inflammation, headaches, and muscle cramps run rampant in me. It’s a whole lottta not fun.  I’ll stick to the magnesium thanks. 

Side note: magnesium requires adequate calcium in your system to absorb properly.  I drink nut milks naturally high in calcium- regularly enough to get a decent amount. Green veggies also have calcium.  Additionally, I take a multivitamin probiotic, and a standard multivitamin to ensure adequate absorption.  The last thing I want is my body leeching my bones of calcium just to take up magnesium. 

I also take way more iodine than doctors recommend,  but  again I feel better and many things function better (especially my brain)  when I’ve had enough iodine. When I don’t,  I may as well be sleeping, because without my iodine- watch out!

My nutrition is through the roof compared to your average Joe. It’s what my body wants,  likely because it’s what is needed to heal damage. So hopefully in a year or two I can say with confidence: “I have  perfect health”.

Now as I’ve said,  this takes massive  willpower, and more often than not I avoid food altogether rather than fight my brain on “I shouldn’t eat that”. It’s not that I don’t eat ever,  but after the last bout of allergy reactions,  I’m seeing that it’s much better to do nutrients over tasty goodies. So my fall downs are less and less every day,  & I’m even figuring out how to keep myself from bored or emotional eating. There  are still those 1200-calorie-bad-food-choice days,  but they are much less plentiful of late.  I’m feeling much better with each passing day.

My self-reward for this is I’m getting my tattoo touched up on Saturday.  I’ll post the results ASAP!

Leave a Reply

