Holidays Happen 

Happy holidays everyone.  So we had a good Yule and Christmas.

I initially tried to beat up on myself because our tree was bought & set up Friday night- 2 days after Yule & the night before Christmas Eve; and also because presents were fewer & much smaller (cheap &/or used/thrift) than I’d hoped.  However,  Nathan reassured me that it was fine, & that everyone would be happy regardless. 

The tree still only has lights on it,  but I think Nathan was right.  Ian seems ecstatic over his toys, being all small trucks, tractors, monster trucks, & construction equipment. He now has his own set of Blippi type toys, so he can play along as he watches his favorite YouTube educational videos. 

Beyond that he spent over 2 hours playing in the box of packing peanuts that was leftover from the grandparents shipment of gifts. It was adorable & he was so happy.  Sometimes the best gifts really are free. 

Anya almost cried over 2 pair of really cute boots I found at Savers Thrift.   She hadn’t thought I knew she liked boots so much & that she wanted more.  She was also very pleased that I got her more books from the Warriors series than she asked for. 

 I’m a firm believer that if a child shows interest in reading anything,  you get them access to as much of that as possible.  It encourages literacy.  So when Anya asked for 4 of the Warriors books, I maximized my dollars by going to Half Price Books and managed to come up with over a dozen,  completing 3 of the mini series’ & adding a couple of supplemental books. She was really excited about that. What she doesn’t know is that there will be quizzes later! Ha!

Nathan and I got mostly utilitarian items- socks, undies,  & shoes;  but Anya got me bath fizzy & Ian grabbed me fuzzy pj bottoms with skulls  all over them, which Nathan made sure were the right size. I was amazed & overjoyed that my children picked perfectly.  

We mostly spent hours watching Ian playing, taking breaks for eating occasionally. There was some tv time,  & lots of holiday music played.  With all of  my allergies,  baked goods were minimal,  but I got enough chocolate to make up for it!

All in all: a quiet,  small, immediate family only, laid back holiday weekend.  It was needed.  I even called my mom for the first time in ages. 

I heard very briefly from my beau online.  He said he’s been having a rough go of it lately,  so I then spent some time sending prayers and Reiki to him.  I hope the new year brings him many blessings and much clarity. I still don’t know why,  but I feel him when he’s thinking of me and my heart yearns to connect with him in person in an  intensity I’ve not known since meeting Nathan. I believe this connection will be important in the future,  and I’m feeling so strongly that I would say I’m in love. Nathan is totally supportive of me and listens to my worries and provides excellent feedback. Although,  he’s really enjoying mocking my giddy teen- like prissy-ness. He thinks my fidgets and worries and mild vanity are adorable. 

All I know is that I’m very impatient, but otherwise feeling spectacular about the possibilities that lie with him, and in general feeling much better about myself these days.  Though the latter I have to give credit to the therapy regimen, as it’s definitely causing real time improvements. 

Except for the fact that we’re still in a construction stall out, I feel like daily life has finally started on an upswing. For that I’m  very grateful. 

Happy holidays everyone! 

Leave a Reply

