Progress thanks to a really great friend! 

So last  time we finished working. The bathroom looked like this: 

Essentially just an 80% completed  floor.

Now it’s much better. 

First we tested my tub that we got way back in January.  I know, right- you’d have thought we’d test it sooner! I knew the pump worked because Habitat Restore had tested that.  I just needed to know  if it leaked before putting it in my brand new bathroom. So testing: it was perfect!  So much so, that I took a fridgidly cold bath just to relish in my new tub. (Sorry not posting myself naked in the tub- haha!)

I can’t tell you how happy having a nice tub makes me. I’ve never in my adult life had a nice tub that I could really soak well in, & that’s not the favorite because I benefit so much from Epsom Salt baths. All previous tubs  were  only ever big enough for waist down soaking.  I’m so happy I have this one now!

So that being said,  it’s not actually usable yet,  but much, much closer. 

I got up at 10am this morning after about 2.5 hours of sleep post route. I immediately got in motion to start working knowing that’d I’d have help after about 3pm.

I was able to finish the subfloor on my own before help arrived.  

Then… Ta Da! Poof:  Nathan (my husband)  and Nate (our amazing friend show up).

We set right in to placing studs. 

We got all the stud walls up and the tub in its approximate location. 

Then we started hanging the paneling backer board. Once upon a time (about 10 years ago)  you could buy pvc paneling that was rigid corrugated sheets (I know because I did back then). Now if you want the benefit of waterproof pvc panels, you’re limited to thin flimsy crap. So,  you have to hang backer board, vapor seal it, & then glue the thin pvc panels on the exterior.  Much more work, more time consuming,  & more costly. Rawr!

Needless to say,  we got most but not all of the backer MDF up. We’ll finish another day & vapor seal so we can get the pvc up on yet another day.

However, despite the less than desireable paneling issue, I’m happy to say we now have some interior walls again. Enough to use the toilet in peace.

I wish I were a team of construction workers,  but I’m not.  So I really, really, really, really appreciated the help from our most amazing and wonderful friend Nate! I wouldn’t have gotten that much done today without him. Thank you & many, many blessings for your kindness & generosity!

*sigh*

Leave a Reply

