Jack of All Trades, Master of None

So this week I saw a female Stag Beetle, outside our new door. I thought it was a mid-western scarab/dung beetle. They are not one and the same, however, they are related. I discovered in finding info on this beetle that I may have inadvertently upset it’s ecosystem in replacing the door and rotten frame, because the larvae feed on rotten wood.

see: discover MO

I find it interesting though that these and scarabs make quick work of rubbish, turning it into a life sustaining substance. It really is symbolic of the cycle of life, but of course that is why the Egyptians liked Scarabs so much. It is rather gratifying to see a symbol appear that reinforces that I am on the right track remodeling this mobile home.

However, it is quite the journey, and I’m not a master of anything. This week I was reminded of that when talking with a client about jewelry. She normally sells non-jewelry accessories on e-bay, and I was helping her with a couple of bracelets she had come into. She didn’t know how to go about looking them up for resale and I was filling her in. She asked me how I knew about jewelry and I explained that I had made jewelry when in college. One of the perks of being an art student. I then explained that I hadn’t made any substantial pieces in 10 years, and that I was rusty (pun intended) on some things.

I let her know that I may know a lot of things on a lot of subjects, but I by no means know everything on everything, and I am most definitely not a master of anything. The closest I come to mastery is massage, and even in that my knowledge is still limited.

Regardless, I appreciate the sentiment. It does fluff my ego a little bit, especially since I tend to be very hard on myself.

 

This week I patched another hole in the sub-floor. That leaves one section left to deal with.Then I will be able to start the real construction! Happy dance.

 

So this is the progression. Before starting to finished.

 

Nathan swears that it is hot to see me working. Even in the disposable dust  suit. He keeps suggesting that if it isn’t already a fetish we should create one around women using power tools and doing construction. That idea just makes me laugh.

So what will end up being the living-room is now fully sub-floored. Hooray! I think that makes 5/200ths of the project done! 😉

 

Leave a Reply

