Gud Wryter

So what makes a Good Writer? That’s a question I’ve asked myself because of this new adventure of blogging.

I don’t believe it is really about having a good grasp of the language you are writing it in. I mean it helps, but that is not the answer alone. I know this because I have never in my life won a spelling bee, in fact at points in my education I failed spelling. I also have dyslexia, and I’ve been known to mix up all the letters of a word except first and last. I sometimes drop letters, and occasionally add letters. In fact, so far in writing this blog post I’ve done every one of those mistakes. It requires me to rely heavily on spell check software and my own proof reading skills. I usually have to proof read everything I write several times over just to make sure I caught everything, and even at that I will still miss mistakes occasionally. I even have to proof read for punctuation mistakes. ,So a great grasp of the written language is not vital.

I would argue that a good vocabulary is somewhat more vital. I have found in writing blogs that I do rely on what I used to call $5 words much more often than in speaking. I feel the “big” words help convey concepts easier and more efficiently.

No, I feel that even though that helps, it still isn’t what constitutes a good writer. I believe that a good writer is a perfect blending of passionate thoughts, good organizational skills, and the ability to bring thoughts into a cohesive format to convey your opinions or create a story. That unique set of skills is what ultimately makes a good writer.

You have to be able to bring those rants in your head together with current events or research to convey why you believe in, or are passionate about, something. You have to be able to bring your wishes or dreams or fantasies into a clear and concise story that someone can follow and be enveloped into.

If you can’t do that then you might as well just be saying “The Lakers Suck” or “Cats are cute” neither of which are intelligent literature.

Of course, that’s just my opinion.

Leave a Reply

