Challenging Week

This post is a bit belated.

My last couple  of posts noted my struggle with hypothyroid symptoms: that hasn’t gotten any better as my mail order script still hasn’t arrived.  Tracking info says it’s  supposed to come in today. My husband is keeping a close eye out for me.  I think if we didn’t have 3 cats & a toddler,  he’d probably just leave the front door wide  open.

He’s tired of the mood roller coaster,  especially after last night – I got very upset (angry)  because people started talking  politics & affordable care act,  & it was all I could do to hold my tongue. It’s a whole ‘nother topic for another blog later, but essentially one side was like it’s not enough,  & one side was it’s too much,  & I wanted to scream – it didn’t do anything except ensure insurance companies made more money. My husband has  a pre-existing condition,  & yes  we technically have insurance that the government pays $600 a year on my behalf,  but it covers nothing – it’s catastrophic only. I have to pay out of  pocket for everything we do,  & apply for assistance from the drug company that makes his meds because I can’t afford $1000 a month for them. Anything I can’t pay cash for I either have to beg for them to be written off, or  eventually they go to collections. Affordable Care did nothing because neither side of politics can agree to compromise with the other,  so everything gets butchered!  ARGH!

On top of that, I’ve been fighting a head cold/sinus infection all week, & it’s not bad enough to warrant the costs of a doctors visit.  Regardless,  we did go out & do some more demolition & deconstruction on Sunday after our route. 

Weather was nice,  made it into the 50’s, but very windy. For some reason wind always seems to make my colds worse, so I was miserable by Sunday evening.

I still had things to do & some work Monday,  & then Tuesday morning,  so by the time lunch rolled around on Tuesday all I wanted to do was sleep.  So I did. … until Wednesday when I had to get up & function again.

I still feel exhausted,  but that’s life in America.  Somewhat sick,  exhausted,  too bad – get your arse to work.

On the up side, demolition (despite feeling crappy) went well.  We got everything but a wall & half down.  The trailer is almost one big open space. This is good because, I’m hoping to get the last wall & half down next week,  along with removing ceiling & exterior wall paneling & all the old insulation.

I’m not sure if I mentioned it before,  but this trailer is from the 70’s, before regulations regarding asbestos were put into place. So,  I have to assume that the insulation likely has some asbestos in it.  If I’m going to do all this work to make it a quality home, then it means replacing the insulation too.

Luckily Nathan already had a mining grade respirator from his past photography work,  so I bought one more for myself- those things aren’t cheap, by the way.  Once we get to insulation,  Anya  will be kicked out of the demo process. She’s all classic pre-teen with “awe,  but I wanted to help :(” and I said “That’s great,  but I don’t want you to have lung cancer in 15 years just because you wanted to help”. She  said fine.

So anyway,  we’re still all excited: for now!

Here are the pics & comments on them.

image

This was the starting view from what used to be the living room – with my new to me Jacuzzi.

image

On the right,  that’s the only whole wall yet to be removed. 

image

Me enjoying some sledging.

image

Anya taking out the kitchen counter!  😉

image

What’s left of the bathroom.

image

The view from the empty corner,  at the end of the day – apologies on the composing toilet/porta potty- no walls means getting to see it, but at least we have a viable potty break location.

Did I mention this is a BIG project.  Keep those fingers crossed for us!

Leave a Reply

